Where to Begin?

I put in a good chunk of time floundering around the U.S. Census website today. Today’s goal was to gather some ideas about where our black baby boy’s story could begin.

I decided that I want the game to randomly pick a place from a few choices. It’ll be interesting to see if one place has advantages over another. And, no one gets to pick where they are born.

I decided to go with a mix of places based on area of the country and the percentage of blacks in the city’s population. When I started poking into the statistics for individual cities, the website BlackDemographics.com came up. They have already picked out most of the data I need from the 2010 census (and certain census projections) and formatted it in an easy-to-read way. I think I’m already in love.

As an initial stab at this, I’ve picked the following places as starting points:

  • New York
  • Chicago
  • Los Angeles
  • Atlanta
  • Jackson, MS
  • Detroit
  • New Orleans

I’m pretty excited–I didn’t think I’d be able to find reliable information so easily and be ready to start building a piece of the game so soon. This might be more do-able than I thought.

Leave a Reply

